Emmanuel Romero

Emmanuel Romero cut his teeth as a creative writer at Bindlestiff Studio, the only permanent community-based creative arts center for Filipino Americans in the U.S. He studied stand-up comedy under Kevin Camia, and was a contributing writer to The Bakla Show in 2007 and 2010. One of his single-act plays, “Viewer Discretion Advised (Tape 96),” was adapted into an award-winning short movie by Scary Cow Productions filmmaker Drew Stephens. The short is still traveling the country’s film festival circuit as of October, 2011.

“As a writer, I want to thank Matt Carton, Ann E. Wood and John
Fennell for  instilling confidence in me, and I’d especially like to thank
Allyson Tintiangco-Cubales for teaching me to take charge of telling
the stories I want to see about my community.”

By trade, Emmanuel has a degree in biology and is a certified science writer.

Emmanuel wants to become best friends with Tori Amos and marry Jeremy
Renner, Mike Rowe and San Francisco Giant Matt Cain — in no
particular order.

“No divorces. I plan on being widowed several times,” he said. “I’m Catholic.”

Leave a Reply

